July 6, 2009

New Stellastarr* album, Civilized, out tomorrow

July 7 marks the release date of the new Stellastarr* album Civilized.

I've thoroughly enjoyed the previous two Stellastarr* releases, 2002's eponymous album and 2005's Harmonies for the Haunted. A number of tracks are available for preview.

The first single sounds good and can be heard on the band's myspace and on youtube - embedded below. The myspace link has another new track from Civilized called "Warchild", which actually sounds better to me on first listen. Purevolume has the whole album, plus some classic older tracks, available for streaming.

I'll have more info once I've had a chance to buy the album and spend some more time with it.

To coincide with the album's release, Stellastarr* is embarking on a 13-date tour. The dates are from LiveDaily.

July 2009
15 - Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda's
16 - New York, NY - HighLine Ballroom
17 - Washington, DC - Rock and Roll Hotel
18 - Baltimore, MD - Ottobar
20 - Cincinnati, OH - 20th Century Theatre
21 - Columbus, OH - The Basement
23 - Chicago, IL - Double Door
27 - Austin, TX - The Parish Room
30 - San Diego, CA - The Casbah
31 - West Hollywood, CA - Troubadour

August 2009
1 - San Francisco, CA - Slim's
3 - Portland, OR - Doug Fir Lounge
4 - Seattle, WA - Chop Suey